Many motorists have questions regarding helmet laws, including the required coverage, stipulations of the law, and much more. It is important for any biker to understand these state-specific safety laws, as well as how they might impact them in the event of a crash.
If you are a motorcycle owner or are looking to become one, a knowledgeable lawyer could help to explain the Michigan motorcycle helmet laws. Furthermore, if you were injured in a motorbike crash, a legal professional could help to assess the facts of your case and work to build a claim for compensation on your behalf.
Do I Have to Wear a Motorcycle Helmet in Michigan?
While some states still do not require motorcycle helmets, it is a requirement in Michigan. All persons riding a motorcycle (and any person less than 19 years of age operating a moped on a public street) are required to wear a crash helmet, with certain exceptions.
Because Michigan laws regarding helmets for motorcyclists are strictly enforced, anyone involved in a crash should be aware of these regulations. While some states still do not require that bikers wear helmets, it is a requirement within Michigan. All persons riding a motorcycle—and any person less than 19 years of age operating a moped on a public street—are required to wear a crash helmet. The Michigan Department of State Police has been given the legislative responsibility to approve crash helmets and to promulgate rules to implement this law.
According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), helmets are estimated to prevent 37 percent of crash deaths among motorcycle riders and 41 percent of crash deaths for motorcycle passengers. A full-face helmet will give a biker the most protection—these types of helmets typically have moveable face shields that can protect a rider’s eyes. Some riders, on the other hand, choose a three-quarter open-face helmet, while others still choose half helmets that are more prone to falling off during a collision. When making a decision regarding which helmet to wear, it is important to choose one that is comfortably snug while also meeting the Department of Transportation (DOT) standards.
Are There Exceptions to Helmet Laws in Michigan?
There are certain exceptions to helmet regulations in Michigan, which include:
- The biker is 21 years or old; and
- Has had motorcycle endorsement for at least 2 years; or
- The biker passes a motorcycle safety course; and
- Has an insurance policy in effect on the motorcycle they are riding for first-party medical benefits payable in the event of a crash.
What Motorcycle Insurance Coverage Do I Need?
For a Michigan insurance policy that includes first-party medical benefits, the coverage needs to include at least $20,000 for a no-passenger crash, as well as at least $20,000 per person for an accident with a passenger. However, if a passenger has security on their own motorcycle insurance policy of at least this same price, the injured motorcyclist must only have the minimum $20,000 coverage.
A Lawyer Could Help to Explain Michigan Motorcycle Helmet Laws
Knowing Michigan motorcycle law is important for a number of reasons. Firstly, it allows any motorcyclist to ride within state regulations, as well as to ensure they are as safe as possible on the roadways.
Furthermore, adhering to state law may help an injured biker to collect compensation if the negligence of another motorist causes you to get into any type of accident. To discuss your rights, call a seasoned lawyer today. Additionally, download our free app for handy guides and safety regulations.
- 29000 Inkster Road
Southfield, MI 48034
- Phone: (248) 595-7544
- 19 Clifford St.
Suite 805 Merchants Row
Detroit, MI 48226
- Phone: (313) 992-8281
- 1001 Woodward Ave.
Detroit, MI 48226
- Phone: (313) 777-8482
- 343 S. Main Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48104
- Phone: (734) 888-3003
- 51424 Van Dyke Ave
Shelby Township, MI 48316
- Phone: (586) 250-2626