Required

Unfortunately, sexual abuse is common throughout the State of Michigan. While many statistics paint a concerning picture of widespread instances of sex assaults, there are often countless other cases that remain unreported. However, a  compassionate lawyer could help with a claim stemming from any type of sexual abuse in Michigan.

If you or a loved one suffered any form of sexual misconduct, you are likely to be traumatized and overwhelmed. No matter the circumstances, a skillful attorney at Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. will answer your questions, explain your legal options, and work to build a claim on your behalf.

The Categories of Abuse

Essentially, sexual assault encompasses all types of unwanted sexual contact. What unites each kind of sex abuse and assault is a lack of consent.  This includes both the lack of knowing consent, as well as the inability to consent.

For example, consent cannot be given if a person is drugged or severely under the influence of alcohol.  Also, a person under the age of 16 cannot consent to sex in Michigan.

The Most Common Kinds of Sexual Misconduct

Rape is a type of sexual assault that often requires physical force and violence. However, if the victim is unable to consent, is not of the age of consent, or verbally is coerced into a sexual act, this is also considered a type of rape.

Michigan criminal laws have separate charges for each type of unwanted sexual touching.  Each category carries its own distinct elements and punishment.

Drug-facilitated sexual abuse is another type of sexual abuse recognized in Michigan. This can occur when the victim is under the influence of drugs or alcohol. As mentioned above, these substances are one way a person might be truly unable to give their consent, which, therefore, means any ensuing sexual contact is a form rape. Victims who are unknowingly given the “date rape drug” who are assaulted also all into this offense.

Other types of sexual abuse include unwanted and forced touching by individuals with authority and power over the victim. Examples include:

Most victims feel powerless and are afraid to even tell family and friends about their abuse. A large number of incidents are never reported to the police due to feeling afraid, ashamed, and for fear that they will not be believed.  Many victims are afraid of retaliation and future harm for reporting sexual abuse.

Pursuing a Timely Lawsuit

The Michigan statute of limitations for filing a sex abuse lawsuit depends on a number of factors.  This includes the age of the victim at the time of abuse, the current age of the victim, and the circumstances surrounding the abuse.

Michigan law recently expanded the statute of limitations for sex assault lawsuits.  A victim now has from three to 10 years for crimes of criminal sexual assault and 10 years to file a civil suit to claim damages. Childhood sexual assault victims have until they are 28 years old depending on their age at the time of the abuse.  This law gives victims more time than ever before to pursue compensation than in the past.

Survivors of sex abuse should contact an experienced law firm as soon as they decide to pursue a civil claim.  Unfortunately, once the statute of limitations expires there will be little chance of pursuing a claim for damages against either the abuser or the institution that employed the person.  

What is the Compensation in a Sex Abuse Lawsuit?

Sex abuse lawsuits help victims recover money damages for the harm caused by the unwanted sexual act or touching.  Recoverable damages in Michigan include settlement payouts for physical pain and suffering, fright and shock, loss of enjoyment of life, and psychological trauma.

Other damages can be demanded for loss of wages, future earnings, and the cost of medical treatment and counseling in the past, present, and future.

Speak with Our Michigan Sex Abuse Lawyers

No matter the types of sexual abuse you or a loved one has suffered, a lawyer at Buckfire & Buckfire, P.C. can help you pursue compensation. While criminal punishment might provide you with a sense of justice, a successful civil lawsuit can help to alleviate your financial strain and allow you to move on with your life.

Our law firm does not charge any money to start your case and we only earn a fee if you receive a settlement.  You will never be billed for legal services, phone calls, or anything else.  And we only get paid our fee at the end of the case when you get your settlement check.

A qualified attorney could stand by your side through each step.

To learn more and schedule a consultation, call our legal professionals today.

Awards and Accolades
Our No Fee Promise No Legal Fees Until You Settle or Win